The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection Mobile search icon Mobile close search icon

Search Results

Advanced Biography Search
Mobile navigation icon Close mobile navigation icon

Share on Social Media

An Evening With The HistoryMakers


An Evening With The HistoryMakers: Tenth Anniversary Gala was an hour-long, live-to-tape program that celebrated The HistoryMakers’ first decade of groundbreaking work. The evening was themed COMMIT: Telling America’s Stories…Celebrating Our Future. In attendance were over 150 HistoryMakers from across the country including The Honorable Eric Holder; ninety-eight year old civil rights pioneer Amelia Boynton Robinson; Little Rock Nine members Ernie Green and Carlotta Walls LaNier; founder of the Trumpet Awards Xernona Clayton; and the Jazz Lady, Geraldine de Haas. This historic program, co-produced by The HistoryMakers Executive Director, Julieanna Richardson, and Tony Award-winning producer and choreographer, George Faison, featured performances by Dionne Warwick, Nikki Giovanni and Melba Moore as well as appearances by Denyce Graves, Reverend Al Sharpton, Gwen Ifill, Cathy Hughes, Roland Martin, and Susan Taylor.

Taped at The Art Institute of Chicago’s Rubloff Auditorium, An Evening With The HistoryMakers documented the story of the archive from beginning to present day. With the use of performances, speeches and archival video and photos, An Evening With The HistoryMakers recounted the organization’s history as only it knows how. Featured celebrities of past An Evening With… programs like Nikki Giovanni, Denyce Graves, Cathy Hughes, Gwen Ifill and Dionne Warwick shared their experiences with The HistoryMakers while supporters Roland Martin, Melba Moore, Reverend Al Sharpton, Kephra Burns and Susan Taylor talked about the importance of the archive.


Sandra Anderson Baccus


Discover Financial ServicesMotorola Foundation


Abbott LaboratoriesWalgreens CompanyRoscor CorporationPricewaterhouseCoopersToyota Motor Sales USAChicago TribuneRR Donnelley & Sons CompanyThe Coca-Cola CompanyAllstate Insurance CompanyPalmer House HiltonAmerican Airlines


  • Alston & Bird, LLP
  • BET
  • Boule Foundation
  • Columbia College
  • DLA Piper, LLP (US)
  • Bernard & Shirley Kinsey and the Kinsey Collection
  • Kirkland & Ellis, LLP
  • Kraft Foods
  • Leigh Jones Coiffures
  • MAC Cosmetics
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
  • Sidley Austin, LLP
  • Smith Whiley & Company
  • State Farm Insurance
  • Winston & Strawn, LLP


  • The Best Portion Foundation
  • Barbara Bowles
  • Boy Scouts of America
  • Toni Cook Bush & Dwight Bush
  • Fellowship Open
  • Garrett Popcorn Shops
  • General Electric
  • GE Healthcare, Americas
  • General Mills
  • Ernest Green
  • Howard University
  • The Lathen Family
  • Darrell Mays
  • Perkins Coie
  • Norma & Russ Ramsey
  • Santa Fe Trust
  • Dorothy Terrell
  • US Cellular
  • Verizon Communications

Executive Producer

  • Julieanna Richardson



  • Julieanna Richardson
  • George Faison

Special Guests

  • Nikki Giovanni
  • Denyce Graves
  • Kathy Hughes
  • Gwen Ifill
  • Dwayne Lee
  • Roland Martin
  • Melba Moore
  • Al Sharpton
  • Suzanne Taylor
  • Dionne Warwick

Event Co-Chairs

  • Sandra Anderson Baccus
  • Kelly McNamara Corley


Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Susan L. Taylor & Khephra Burns
  • Madeleine Moore Burrell & Tom Burrell
  • James Cuno

Benefit Committee

  • Nicole M. Adams
  • Alicia Batts
  • Michelle Boone
  • Alvin Boutte, Jr.
  • Barbara Bowles
  • Reuben Cannon
  • Toni Cook Bush
  • Merri Dee
  • Veranda & Jacoby Dickens
  • Craig Gilmore
  • Robert Graham
  • Ernest Green
  • Will Griffin
  • Gloria & Malcolm Hemphill
  • James Hill
  • Margaret Young & Peter Hurst
  • Willie Iles
  • Deborah Lathen
  • Sharon Morrow
  • Stephanie Phillips & George Murray
  • Belinda Pridgen
  • Cordell Reed
  • Al Reid
  • Robin Robinson
  • James Speed
  • Eileen Sweeney
  • Scott Taper
  • Riley Temple
  • Dorothy Terrell
  • Genelle Trader

Young Leaders Host Committee

  • Alexis Cepeda Maule
  • Brian Benjamin
  • Courtney Charity
  • Alyssa Colbert
  • Jillian Colbert
  • Candice Cook
  • Sarah Fesshel
  • Evan Hendon
  • Kelly Hutchinson
  • Jason Lee
  • Irene Reed
  • Brandon Sharp
  • Stacie Smith
  • Johanna Thomas
  • Ale Piers Torres
  • Charlie Tribbett
  • Maci Peterson

Date and Time

Friday, November 19, 2010


The Art Institute of Chicago
111 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60603
United States