Salute to The HistoryMakers (Los Angeles 2004)

Thursday 11/18/2004

Beverly Hilton

Beverly Hills, California

On November 18, 2004 The HistoryMakers hosted The Los Angeles Salute to The HistoryMakers at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California.

The Los Angeles Salute to The HistoryMakers was part of a series of events in Chicago, Washington, D.C. and Los Angeles where HistoryMakers were honored and presented with The HistoryMakers award.


The Los Angeles Salute to The HistoryMakers featured speeches by Master of Ceremonies Chris Schauble, Co-anchor of "Today in LA"'; Floyd Pitts, Senior Director of Diversity Programs for Hilton Hotels Corporation; Denny Fitzpatrick, General Manager of The Beverly Hilton; Michael Dill, McDonald's Corporation; Reuben Cannon, Producer & Casting Director; Bernard Kinsey, President of KBK Enterprises; May Levine, Discover Financial Services; Julieanna Richardson, Founder & Executive Director of The HistoryMakers; and Stan Lathan, Director & Producer. Between the speeches, a performance was given by the Everett Greene Trio, and montages of interview segments from the HistoryMakers were played. 


The HistoryMakers staff has created a finding aid for this event. View/Download below:

 Finding Aid to The HistoryMakers - Special Collection: Salute to The HistoryMakers (Los Angeles 2004).pdf


 Honored HistoryMakers

 James Avery  Bishop Carolyn Tyler Guidry  John Levy
 Dr. Keith Black  Dr. Nathan Hare  Richard Love
 Napoleon III Brandford  Julia Hare  Fayard Nicholas
 Bernice Baynes Brown  Shirley Jones  Willy T. Ribbs
 Reuben Cannon  Maulana Karenga  Marcus O. Tucker
 Mayme Clayton  Bernard Kinsey  Hon. Maxine Waters
 Dr. Price Cobbs  Stan Lathan  Reginald Webb
 Kim Fields  William Lester  Lillie Mae Wesley



Honorary Co-Chairs

Clarence Avant

Reuben Cannon

Will Griffin

Bernard Kinsey

Stan Lathan


Benefit Committee 


Chere Lott

Paul Garnes

Jeri Good

Fritz Goode

Julieanna Richardson

Karyn Taylor

Mary Williams

Beneca Wilson