Salute To The HistoryMakers (Atlanta, 2016)

Tuesday 10/4/2016

The Carter Center

Atlanta, Georgia

On Tuesday, October 4, 2016 The HistoryMakers hosted the Salute To Atlanta HistoryMakers a special program and reception in honor of our Atlanta HistoryMakers at The Carter Center. Co-sponsored by AARP, Emory University Librarian Yolanda Cooper, and the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library and Museum’s Director, Meredith Evans, the Salute To Atlanta HistoryMakers showcased the achievements of the 199 HistoryMakers who have shared their stories with us.



Julieanna Richardson Founder & Executive Director The Historymakers
Randall K. Burkett Curator Of African American Collections Rose Library Emory University
Yolanda Cooper University Librarian Emory University
Dionti Davis Special Assistant The Historymakers
Dr. Meredith Evans Director Jimmy Carter Presidential Library And Museum
Judy Forte Superintendent Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, U.S. National Park Service
Denise Deburst Gines Interviewer & Producer The Historymakers
Pellom Mcdaniels III Curator Of African American Collections Rose Library Emory University
Loretta Parham CEO & Director Atlanta University Center Woodruff Library
Victor E. Simmons, Jr. Library Administrator Auburn Avenue Research Library On African American Culture And History
Debra Tyler-Horton State Director AARP Georgia
Kevin Young Charles Howard Candler Professor Of Creative Writing And English Emory University 
Sonjia Young President Eventions, Inc.


Event & Production

Executive Producer
Julieanna Richardson


Julieanna Richardson


Barry Burman

Kenneth Davenport


Event Management
Eventions, Inc.
Sonjia Young
Cynthia Childs
Lynn Alston
Tonya Williams
Tyneshia Anderson
Mary Robinson


Event Location
The Carter Center
Lisa Wiley
Molly Ison
Patricia Simon


Volunteer Coordinator
Denise DeBurst Gines


Carithers Flowers


Proof of the Pudding
Jane Quillen


Lighting & Production Equipment, Inc.
W. Bruce Harlan
Adam Persaud


Graphic Design
Shawn Newton


Clyde Printing Co.


Special Thanks
Rev. Dr. Dwight Andrews
Jo Banks
Yolanda Cooper
Denise DeBurst Gines
Edna Kane-Williams
Debra Tyler-Horton
Sonjia Young


Cheryl Battles
Sherrie Davis
Shante DeBurst
Beverly Gibson
Patricia Grant
Kathy McClure
Carolyn Parks
Minnette Rodwell
Jahred Swift
Tracy Walton